Amazon Parrots
Amazon Parrots
Amazon Parrots
Amazon Parrots
Amazon Parrots

Amazon Parrots

FIRST EDITION, ONE OF ONLY 70 “SPECIAL” COPIES ISSUED WITH A SIGNED AND NUMBERED HAND-COLORED ETCHING. COMPLETE WITH 27 ADDITIONAL STUNNING TIPPED-IN PLATES OF TROPICAL PARROTS.

“Elizabeth Butterworth trained as an artist rather than as an ornithologist. Since first exhibiting her work in 1978 she has been specifically commissioned to paint birds, although her range includes portraits, landscapes and botanical art.


“Together with Rosemary Low who is considered the leading authority on caged parrots in Britain, Butterworth planned a monograph on the Amazon parrots. They were supported in their project by Rodolphe d'Erlanger an aviculturist and banker who was concerned with the continuance of several of the species in the wild, threatened by the loss of their natural habitat.

“Surprisingly this is the first important book, in the tradition of John James Audubon, John Gould and Edward Lear, to be published on the Amazon parrots. Of these artists Lear would have been the most likely to have painted the Amazon parrots, but never completed his proposed 14 part series Illustrations of the family of psittacidae or parrots. Audubon and Gould both produced portfolios of birds specific to continents other than South America.

Amazon Parrots utilises modern techniques of reproduction. Photographic lithography is used for the colour printing and the text has been set using Monotype Calvert, the first type in the United Kingdom designed for laser composition” (State Library of South Australia).

The hand-colored etching is signed and numbered by Butterworth; the book is signed by both Butterworth and Low. One of 70 copies, out of an entire edition of 515.

London: Rodolphe d'Erlanger/The Basilisk Press, 1983. Large folio (14x17 in), original red cloth, original cloth portfolio box. Extra etching matted and laid-in (as issued). Box a little dusty, otherwise fine. A rare limitation of an extraordinarily beautiful book.

Price: $4,500 .